Year end traffic into Isaan; when to start?

nofarang

There is noway I would travel this week into issan from Bangkok or Pattaya after the 26th. The carnage leading up to and over Thailand's Number 1 holiday for road death is unreal. Last year 380 killed. Starting no later than this coming Friday expect highway 24 from the 2 going east for the next 200 km to be a  nightmare. UTY.

On 12/25/2016 at 11:00 AM, khwaibah said:

There is noway I would travel this week into issan from Bangkok or Pattaya after the 26th. The carnage leading up to and over Thailand's Number 1 holiday for road death is unreal. Last year 380 killed. Starting no later than this coming Friday expect highway 24 from the 2 going east for the next 200 km to be a  nightmare. UTY.

I have been driving Thailand north and south for only 6 months. I am currently driving now from BKK to Khon Kaen. No traffic issues no problems. Roads good to great. If an issue arises I will let you know. 

Drove to Pattaya over Christmas and drove back to BKK on past Monday. Roads good and Monday no traffic. Sunday probably had a lot of traffic. 

Drove Krabi two weeks roads great and traffic easy. 

Drove Phuket two weeks -- only issues tourist buses and expats on motorcycles and drinking all day not just at night. Not bad but unpleasant.  

Been to Khon Kaen several times and roads good and drivers good and no issues. 

Only issue I have had in Thailand are motorcycles at night with no lights driving the village roads, tourists renting motorbikes they have trouble driving, and drunk drivers out at 2 am like a lot of places I the world. I am not out at 2 am much but I look for drunk drivers  at 2 am in every place I live or visit.