Ford Ranger oil capacity

DickThrust

Hi,

Just took in my 2013 Ford Ranger 2.2 for its 75k service at a Ford Dealer. I was charged for 8 litres of oil. Does anyone know the oil capacity for this model. Incidentally, I was charged 7600 bt for this service. Does this sound reasonable? Thanks for any views or advice.

Hi Transam, I really appreciate your reply. It has put my mind at rest. 

Yes I was charged for 2 * 4 litres of oil. Some more help if you can. I do feel that I was ripped off. The service charge was 4515 bt (I am happy with that as that is the published price) but there were 2 more items at 995 bt and 2022 bt.

They left empty containers in the car - one appears to be "valve oil ???" and the other is some type of liquid air freshener. There was also a used filter left (maybe air conditioner filter - I am not an expert).

I am going back to the place to see what is going on but if you can give me some of your expert advice, I would appreciate it.

Thanks again.

Hi Transam, thanks again. I have posted an image of the bottles etc that were left. On the bill it says the 995 bt was for "oil" - presumably the flushing oil pictured - is this stuff necessary? The other bottles seem to suggest some type of A/C work - again was this necessary.

I think I am getting to the bottom of this. When I was waiting for the work to be done, a technician brought a job sheet which I had to sign. I speak no Thai and spoke no English and nothing was explained. I saw the items for 995 bt and 2022 bt but assumed they were part of the service – basically I have been stupid enough to be duped into having work done that was unnecessary.

I just hope that other farang Ford owners read this and don’t make the same mistake again. I won’t be using that dealer (Nakhon Ratchasima Ford) again !!!

ford.jpg

Sorry but I can't read the labels but that ain't engine flushing oil, that comes in 5 litre cans......