VA Health Care for Expat Veterans

Utley

Expat Veterans - Bringing awareness to the fact that Veterans who live outside of the U.S. are excluded from receiving VA Medical Care.

An open letter to:

Secretary David Shulkin M.D.

Department of Veterans Affairs

810 Vermont Avenue NW

Washington DC 20420-0002

There has been much talk recently about privatizing elements of the Department of Veterans Affairs to have a system where veterans can choose to either receive health care from VA medical facilities or private medical facilities.  When this change is fully or partially implemented, please do not exclude veterans who live outside of the U.S. from the program.

I am a Vietnam Veteran living in Thailand (while still a registered voter in the 8th district of Brevard County, Florida) and I am currently prohibited from receiving VA medical care locally as the VA has no medical facilities in Thailand.  If the VA changes their policy and allows veterans to receive medical care from private medical facilities, there is no logical, ethical or moral reason to exclude those of us who live outside of the U.S.  The private medical facilities in Thailand charge substantially less (about ½) than those in the U.S. while the quality of the medical care that they provide is equal to and often better than that found in the U.S.

Many Vietnam Veterans have Hepatitis C, for instance, but they can’t get treatment from the VA unless they leave their Thai families and return to the U.S.  That just isn’t right!  We fought hard for our country.  To deny us medical care because we live outside of the U.S. is akin to breaking the contract made with us when we raised our right hands and took the oath to protect and uphold the Constitution of the United States.  Please do not leave us behind.

#VietnamVeterans #VAHealthCare #CongressmanPhilRoe #SenatorJohnnyIsakson #SecretaryDavidShulkin

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply
31 minutes ago, Sheryl said: