Thai-style Wooden House, Self-build

rods

Hi everyone.

We are intending to build a modest (1-2 bed, lounge, kitchen) wooden house on land in Chantaburi. We will be doing this on a pretty tight budget so are looking for (hopefully local) suppliers of 2nd-hand construction timber. In addition, I would like to do most of the work myself. I know this may sound odd to many people considering local labour costs but I'm a carpenter myself and it's what I enjoy. We'll hire labourers for the hhe hole digging, heavy lifting, etc; I've done enough of that in this life!

I'm wondering if anyone reading this has actually built their own house (as opposed to having one built.) If so, did you engage a Thai carpenter to help you or did you go it alone and figure out the Thai joinery techniques yourself? (If so, do you know of any good resources on the subject apart from the book 'The Thai House'?) Or did you use farang joinery methods? Where did you get your wood and how much did it cost you? Importantly, what are the pitfalls? (there always are!) I'd be very interested to hear about your self-build experiences or if you know of a 2nd hand timber supplier in Chantaburi that would be great.

Thanks a lot

Rods

Rods,

I built my house myself.....by this I mean that I made all the decisions about what materials would be used and the sizes of beams etc. I also did a portion of almost all of the different types of work but did not do all of any of the types of work. The house is reinforced concrete post and beam on the first floor with concrete block infill walls and wood beams holding up the second floor and all wood above except for one end of the building where there is a bathroom on the second floor so that portion of the second floor is concrete beams and concrete block infill walls like the first floor.