BANGKOK

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guru Satu

Blood Tests?

Hi all, 

I am looking into teaching jobs in Bangkok and have read about the required medical examination as part of the work visa processing. I notice that they do a blood test, which strikes me as a bit odd. What does this test look for? Drugs? Communicable diseases? I've never worked in a country that does this. 

Also, is it common for teachers to be drug tested in Bangkok? I ask because when I travel back home during breaks, I enjoy smoking a bit of pot and would hate for that to come back and bite me at some point in the future. 

Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! 

I have no recent knowledge re Bangkok, but for at least two years Surin Labour Dept.(not Immigration) has been requiring a blood test for syphillis, and a chest x-ray for TB.

1 hour ago, allane said:

I have no recent knowledge re Bangkok, but for at least two years Surin Labour Dept.(not Immigration) has been requiring a blood test for syphillis, and a chest x-ray for TB.

And  right next door, in Buriram, there is no such requirement. Rules change from province to province.

The blood test is to rule out 3rd stage Syphilis. The items that they evaluate are :

1) 3rd stage Syphilis (blood test)

2) Elephantiasis: Clinical Evaluation

3) Drug Abuser / Alcoholic: Clinical Evaluation

4) Leprosy: Clinical Evaluation

5) Insanity: Clinical Evaluation

#5 is questionable because once you've taught in Thailand you realize that no sane person would ever don it again....ha ha ha (a little former teacher humor) 

.... they will test for a battery of STD and will call out syphilis.... and HIV...and call it in front of your personnel department every year...

,,,,Funny some of the older gents in their 70s also had a hoot with this.. as a red badge of courage.....

4 hours ago, Rhys said: