Keeping your Thai bank account active...

Hi Guys,

I have been working for the past 10 years in LOS and have decided to leave Thailand and live and work for a couple years in Europe again.

Current status: My Work permit and Extension of stay have been cancelled and have already left the country.  This means that, for any of my future short visits, I will be either on a tourist visa or 30 days exempt stamp.

I still have an active bank account with credit card attached to it and was wondering if I will be still able to use the account, when living abroad for couple years? There’s some money left on the account, but not plan to touch it for at least a year or so. Will there be a chance they freeze the account or close it, if there has been no movement in a year or so? FYI – the amount on the account is sufficient enough to cover for any annual banking fees etc?

What if I decide to come back at some point in time as tourist and want to apply for a new debit/credit card or online banking… They will certainly ask for a copy of my passport. Which is okay, except for the Visa (which will show a 30 days stamp or tourist visa).

Once you stop working, you have basically 7 days to leave the country and return on a tourist (or other visa). So what about the ‘grace’ period in between jobs when you are on a tourist visa? What does the bank do in such case? Will they block, freeze or keep an eye closed, keeping in mind you have been a ‘good customer’ over the past 10 years, until you have found a new job? 

Do you think this will be a problem?  I assume the bank must have been dealing with more people like me in this situation?

Has anyone experience with this or with any particular bank?

Cheers,

Ook

I have read that you must keep your Thai bank account active for at least 1 year. That means transactions in less than 1 year. If not, they will freeze your account. So, if I were you, I would use the online websites to transfer money around. That should work.