Never been to Issan. Is there anything really worth seeing there?

thaibeachlovers

Now in what will probably be the last year of staying in Thailand before I leave it for ever.

Although I have been visiting Thailand since the 1970s, I never went to Issan.

Is there anything good enough there that I won't find elsewhere in LOS that I should make the effort to see?

Thanks.

• Replies 159
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Isan consists of 20 provinces so there is much to see. You could go to one many traditional festivals, such as the Bun Bungfai Rocket Festival. This fertility rite, originating in pre-Buddhist times, is celebrated in a number of locations both in Isan and in Laos, but most vigorously and most famously in Yasothon Province.  Other Isan festivals are the Candle Festival, which marks the start of vassa in July in Ubon and other locations; the Silk Festival in Khon Kaen, which promotes local handicrafts; and the bangfai phayanak or Naga fireballs of Nong Khai.

Some more

Buriram

Prasat Hin Phanom Rung

This historical park contains some of the most extensive Khmer era ruins in Thailand. A new visitor center will be opened in 2002 to facilitate more visitors.

Loei

Phu Kradung

National park which contains and surrounds the highest mountain in the northeast. Its a popular hiking and camping spot among Thais.

Nakorn Ratchasima

Most Thais will refer to Nakorn Ratchasima as Korat. There's not much to the town itself, but several things to see in the area.

Thao Suranaree Festival

In the 19th century the wife of a city official named Thao Suranaree led a band of local women who managed to defend the city against a Lao invasion by getting the Laotian soldiers drunk. A statue and shrine containing her ashes defends the western gate of the city to this day, and every year from 23 March to 3 April they hold a fair in her honor in the precincts around the gate.

Pak Thong Chai