Installing Linux Mint on laptop

FredLee

Ordered a new laptop with Ubuntu already installed. Figured that was the easiest way, since shouldn't have any hardware issues. Laptop arrived today, and it had Windows 10 instead of Ubuntu. Not familiar with Windows since I have been using OSX for quite a few years. Don't really want Windows, but I suppose it could be useful. So I downloaded Linux Mint Cinnamon and imaged it to a USB. Booted up from the USB and it appears to be working ok. Checked the ethernet connection, wifi, and sound and they all work properly. I am trying to decide whether to make a dual boot system or just replace Windows with Linux. If I decide to do a dual boot, I am not sure of partitoning the 1TB hard drive. It is currently configured as Local DIsk (C:)  101 GB free of 149 GB,     Data (D:)  390 GB free of 390 GB,   Backup (E:) 390 GB free of 390 GB.  Looks like I should be able to install Linux in the D: or E: partition, but I'm not sure. Appreciate any advice.  

A few things to consider.  If you do want to retain Windows then it makes good sense to keep the D: Drive for storing data as this keeps stuff separate from the OS, which will probably fall over at some stage and may need to be reinstalled.  The E: Drive - currently for Windows Backup  - is only needed if you are actually going to back stuff up - as you should do, of course.  Unfortunately, you are going to have to sacrifice something if you want to dual boot but E: is probably the best candidate.

So, you need to fit your Linux installation into the 390GB that will be available once you trash the Windows Backup partition.  This is perfectly possible to do, although you won't have a lot of space for your Linux Home partition.  What follows is an indication of how my Linux Mint 18.1 Serena is set up.  The latest release is 18.2 Sonya but the installation procedure is the same.